Every Time I Die’s From Parts Unknown: Album Review

By Tamsin Mathias

New York Band, Every Time I Die are one of the most consistent bands around and are set to release their new album, From Parts Unknown, and have never failed to deliver something special – especially with this seventh album. 

From the opening disjointed chords of first track ‘The Great Secret’, you know that you had nothing to worry about when buying the album, as what follows the first few seconds of cracked chords is two and a half minutes of brutality. ‘Pelican Of The Desert’ quickly follows and it is all that you love about Every Time I die. After this is the awesomeness of the first single, ‘Decayin’ With The Boys’. It is songs like this that have always separated the band from a million other metal bands. Vocalist Keith Buckley can switch his vocals in an instance from a scream to something much more melodic. 

Brian Fallon of The Gaslight Anthem joins the party on ‘Old Light’ and he does well holding his own and bringing some serious melody to huge clubbing riffs and rhythms the band throw at him. ‘El Dorado’ is the longest track on the album, but shows the band at full strength, and is a tune that has everything, showing how proficient the band are at writing truly special songs. Not one note is wasted or thrown away. 

The ferocity of this album really stands out. You could say it’s their heaviest album yet and there is certainly nothing dull about it. With most tracks coming under three minutes, From Parts Unknown is nothing short of mind-blowing. This could be seen as the best album Every Time I Die have released so far. It’s a huge mix of melody and ferocity and is something very special. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *